Your Data Manager saves a copy on your behalf of the data you leave behind when you browse online. This is the default setting, but you can change it if you wish by switching the toggle in the header of the Manager.
If the switch is ON, it means that every time you visit a website and write in an input field, then a copy of the data you enter (it being your address, name, pin code, etc.) is saved in your Data Manager with the date you entered it and the location it was gathered. That way, you can keep an archive of the data you share. You can even encrypt the data to keep it handy but safe.
For more of why this is a great feature to enhance the security of your data, read our article What is the Data Manager and why should I use it?
Unfortunately, voicing your preference about data collection with us will not stop websites from collecting your data… If this is what you want, then you need to request that the site delete the data it has collected about you. If you are a European resident, you will be supported in this request by the European Union and the GDPR.
To know exactly how to turn data collection ON and OFF even at a granular level (website by website), please read our detailed article How to use the Data Manager (on the Browser Extension).
Privowny App doesn’t collect data on mobile devices. The data you will see in your Data Manager on your iOS or Android devices are the ones that you left behind on your desktop browser while using the Privowny App Browser Extension. Additionally, you will see there any data you added manually from any of your devices.